Please click the link below for information on how to determine whether a CE provider is approved by the Nevada State Board of Nursing.
Please note: MEDCEU is not an approved CE provider.
Continuing Education/Training FAQs
How many CEs/CNA training hours are required for renewal?
The Nevada Nurse Practice Act requires all renewing RNs and LPNs to complete 30 hours of nursing-related continuing education and all renewing CNAs to complete 24 hours of CNA-related continuing training within the license/certificate renewal period. It also requires APNs to take an additional 15 CEs directly related to their specialties and CRNAs to take an additional 15 hours of CEs in pharmacology. Also, the Nurse Practice Act requires RNs and LPNs to complete the one-time required bioterrorism course.*
*While the legislature didn’t mandate the course for CNAs, the Board highly encourages them to take it as part of their 24-hour continuing education/training renewal requirement.
- New nurses may be exempt from CE requirement for first renewal
- According to NAC 632.343, licensees are exempt from the requirement to earn 30 CEs for renewal “for the first biennial period after graduation.”
- Therefore, new nurses who have earned their degrees within the last two years do not have to earn 30 CEs for their first renewal. However, they do need to complete the one-time, four-hour, bioterrorism CE requirement.
How do I submit my CEs/CNA training hours to the Board?
Rather than requiring nurses and CNAs to submit their continuing education/training certificates at the time of renewal, the renewal application asks applicants to affirm (swear) they are in compliance with the continuing education/training requirement and reminds them to retain copies of their certificates for four years in case of an audit. Then, the Board conducts random audits to ensure compliance. Failure to complete the continuing education within the renewal period, or failure to produce evidence of CE/training completion when audited, may result in disciplinary action.
What are approved continuing education/training providers?
If a continuing education provider is an academic institution, has a Nevada continuing education provider number, is approved by another state nursing board or health-related board*, or is recognized by one of the organizations below, it is accepted by the Nevada State Board of Nursing.
- · American Association of Critical Care Nurses
- · American Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- · American Nurse Credentialing Center Commission on Accreditation
- · National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners
- · National League for Nursing
*Examples of health-related boards include Boards of Medical Examiners, Pharmacy, and Social Workers
What continuing education/training courses can I take?
Looking for a provider? Check with your human resources/staff development office, or try a web search, using key words like “Nurse (or CNA) continuing education.”
What kind of course can you take? A course which is designed to increase or improve a nurse’s or CNA’s knowledge, skill or ability related to the authorized scope of practice of the nurse or CNA (CNAs, please refer to the CNA Skills Guidelines).
Can’t find the classes the Board ordered you to take? Call the Board at 888-590-6726 and you will be directed to someone who can help you.
Please note: Make sure the continuing education/training provider is accepted by the Board.
How many CEs/CNA training hours does a course equal?
60 minutes of participation in nurse CE equals one contact hour
One hour of participation in CNA inservice training equals one contact hour
College credit (if taken as part of education program to obtain higher nursing degree; includes prerequisites)—one credit (semester) equals 15 contact hours, one credit (quarter) equals 10 contact hours